Star Wars: Three minutes to take you to understand the eight kinds of lightsabers

7/28/2015 20:25 Read 55,873 views

Star Wars: Three minutes to take you to understand the eight kinds of lightsabers.

In Star Wars, the most common and well-known lightsabers are blue, red and green, which help us distinguish between the two sides of the Force. However, in the Star Wars universe, weapons like lightsabers come in other colors - eight colors, to be exact, including orange. Recently, thanks to the success of the game "Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order," orange lightsabers have also made their way into proper history.

Like other objects in the galaxy, the different colors of lightsabers represent different meanings and are used by different members, depending on the responsibilities they take on (and the side of the Force they are on).

Jedi, Sith, and other Force users use lightsabers as weapons, using them for both attack and defense. The lightsaber's blade consists of a plasma beam and is powered by a kyber crystal. The blade is released from the hilt of the sword and can be turned off at will. Khyber crystals are rare crystals that can adapt to the Force; they are generated in their natural environment and can be found on many planets.

Khyber crystals themselves have no color, but when they are found by a Jedi, they take on a different color. Although the personality of the user does not directly determine the color of the crystal, their "spiritual connection" to the crystal affects the color of the lightsaber.

Thus, the Khyber crystal can give the lightsaber a different color. Because the Sith's lightsaber was obtained through a different method, it has a distinctive deep red color. So far, Star Wars canonical history recognizes a total of eight lightsaber colors, each with a different purpose and meaning. Below we introduce each color lightsaber and its meaning.


Blue Lightsabers

Blue (and red) lightsabers first appeared in Star Wars: A New Hope. Jedi usually use blue lightsabers. Although this is not the only color they use, it is the most commonly used color. The blue lightsaber is said to represent justice and bravery, which is the spirit that most Jedi represent. Specifically, however, the color has no meaning, but rather indicates a "spiritual connection" between the user and the crystal.
Characters who use blue lightsabers include Obi-Wan Kenobi, Anakin Skywalker, Luke Skywalker, and Terra Sinubert, who uses a light blue lightsaber. In the Star Wars Expanded Universe (Gaiden), Jedi guards use this type of lightsaber.



Green Lightsaber

The green lightsaber is the second most common lightsaber used by the Jedi. Like the blue lightsaber, the green lightsaber has no specific meaning, but those who use it tend to value harmony, helpfulness, kindness, and willingness to cooperate. Green lightsabers are often used by wise, higher-level Jedi, such as Master Yoda, Qui-Gon Jinn and Luke Skywalker. It is worth mentioning that Ahsoka Tano also used a light green short lightsaber. In the Gaiden, the green lightsaber is used by the Jedi Consul.

Purple lightsaber

Lightsabers of this color are extremely rare and also used by the Jedi, the most famous character being Mace Windu. In fact, the purple lightsaber was enabled at the request of Samuel L. Jackson, as purple was his favorite color. Again, in the Star Wars universe, this rare lightsaber has no real meaning. However, since purple is a combination of red and blue, in the Gaiden it denotes moral ambiguity, uncertainty and reconstruction.

Thus, the use of a purple lightsaber indicates the user's connection to both the light and dark sides of the Force. Windu's purple lightsaber first appeared in Star Wars Prequels 2: Attack of the Clones. Later, in Star Wars Prequels 3: Revenge of the Sith, Windu clashed with Darth Sidious and the lightsaber fell out of the window and was lost as a result.



Yellow Lightsaber

Jedi Temple guards use lightsabers of this color, and they carry double-edged yellow sword spears. We know very little about this particular color of lightsaber, so it is unclear whether the yellow color was deliberately used to distinguish the guards, or whether the crystal turned yellow after the Temple Guard was chosen. Both Asajj Ventress and Ahsoka Tano have used this lightsaber at some point.
In the Gaiden, the yellow lightsaber is used by Jedi Sentinels. Also, after the ancient Jedi Jaden Korr (Jaden Korr) purified the crystal of a red lightsaber, this lightsaber also turned yellow.

Orange lightsaber

The orange lightsaber is a new lightsaber added to the official history due to Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order. This lightsaber is the prize for booking that game, so it does not yet have any backstory.

In the Gaiden, the orange lightsaber is sometimes used by Sith/Blackened Jedi. However, no meaning has yet been assigned to it in canonical history, at least until the release of Fallen Order.



White Lightsaber

The White Lightsaber is used by Ahsoka Tano and is evidence of her ability to control the Force. After breaking away from the Jedi Order, Ahsoka went into hiding on the agricultural moon Raeda and obtained the Khyber Crystals from Magistrate Sixth Brother's lightsaber after killing him during the Imperial occupation.

The crystals originally glowed red, but Ahsoka purified them with the Force, returning them to white. This signified that she was an independent and autonomous person, no longer dependent on the Jedi and unaffiliated with the Dark Side. She used these crystals to forge two lightsabers, one of which is a short-bladed lightsaber.



Red Lightsaber

Sith use lightsabers of this color. Jedi can establish a connection with the Khyber crystal, and then the crystal will change color. Unlike the Jedi, the Sith cannot establish contact with the crystal and must steal it or forge it by other means. This process is called "bleeding", which involves pouring all their hatred, fear and other negative emotions into the crystal, causing it to "bleed" and turn red.

In the Gaiden, the Sith are also unable to forge lightsabers using kyber crystals, so they create synthetic crystals, which turn them red. These lightsabers were mainly used by the Sith, such as Darth Vader, Count Dooku, Darth Maul (who used a double-bladed red lightsaber), Darth Sidious, and Kylo Ren.


Black Lightsaber

The Black Lightsaber, also known as the Dark Sword, is a unique lightsaber forged by Ta Vizsla. The Dark Sword has a very special blade, also shorter than most lightsabers, and is similar in shape to a traditional sword. After Vizsla's death, the Dark Sword was kept in the Jedi Temple and later stolen by members of the Vizsla family.

The weapon is a symbol of Mandalorian power, and according to Mandalorian tradition, the only way to obtain it is to defeat its previous owner in battle.



Other colors

All the colors mentioned above are the colors recognized in the main history, but there are many other colors of lightsabers in the Gaiden stories. In the Gaiden, crystals other than the Kiber crystal are used to forge lightsabers, and the color of the blade varies from crystal to crystal. Therefore, in the Star Wars Gaiden, we can see various colors of lightsabers, such as silver, cyan, gold, lime green, bronze, etc..
There will be many gaiden elements added to the main history in the future. Therefore, in the near future, some of these colors of lightsabers may also be recognized by the Star Wars canonical history.


Copyright notice:The copyright of this article belongs to the original author, welcome to share this article, thank you for your support!
Please indicate the reprint:Star Wars: Three minutes to take you to understand the eight kinds of lightsabers | Best light sabers-2022Light sabers for sale-Star wars light sabers